Plymouth St Saviour, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Plymouth St Saviour, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plymouth St Saviour, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth Incorporation PLU
Registration District Plymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1871; For more records see Plymouth Holy Trinity
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PLYMOUTH ST. SAVIOUR - The Church of Saint Saviour was located on Lambhay Hill, The Hoe, Plymouth. It was built in 1870 as a chapel of ease to the Church of the Holy Trinity. It was enlarged in 1883 by the addition of a north aisle when the parish was formed from Holy Trinity. It is a stone building in the Early English style. Consists of chancel, nave, aisles, and a western tower.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plymouth St Saviour, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Plymouth St Saviour, Devon Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241332.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. The Encyclopaedia of Plymouth History compiled in partnership with the Plymouth Library Service and with the co-operation of the Plymouth West Devon Record Office. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,253 times.