Plympton St Mary, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Plympton St Mary, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plympton St Mary, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plympton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plympton St Mary PLU
Registration District Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PLYMPTON ST. MARY, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Plympton, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of Devon, ½ a mile (N. W. by W.) from Earl's-Plympton. It has no village of its own name, but includes those of RIDGWAY, UNDERWOOD, and COLEBROOK, and the hamlets of Hemerdon, Sparkwell, Venton, and part of Lee Mill Bridge. The Church of Plympton St. Mary was anciently the conventual church of the Priory. There are small Wesleyan Chapels at Ridgway and Lee Mill Bridge.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plympton St Mary, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Plympton St Mary, Devon Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

IGI 1616-1812 1616-1632
IGI 1603-1728 1603-1684

Sparkwell registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Sparkwell Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241318.

Transcriptions of some of the censuses records for Plympton St Mary parish can be found at http://genuki.cs.ncl.ac.uk/DEV/PlymptonStMary/index.html#Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Information about Plympton St. Mary Parish, in Devon, England and past residents may be found on the Online Parish Clerk pages at http://cornwood-opc.com/psmary/home

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed: 2 August 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014. Described as 'Plympton Erle' and 'Plympton Saint Mary.' Are these actually two difference localities?

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,411 times.