Plymstock, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Plymstock, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Plymstock, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plymstock, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plympton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plympton St Mary PLU
Registration District Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PLYMSTOCK (St. Mary and All Saints), a parish, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, hundred of Plympton, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of the county of Devon, 2 miles (S. E.) from Plymouth. The parish is situated on the river Plym, and intersected by the Totnes and Exeter road. At Hoe was formerly a chapel dedicated to St. Catherine. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plymstock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
PLYMSTOCK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1591-1812


FMP

Undefined


PRTS

1591-1812


TGEN

1591-1812


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Calvinist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241318.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Plymstock on GENUKI 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed: 2 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2015, at 00:42.
  • This page has been accessed 2,196 times.