Pocahontas County, IowaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Iowa
Pocahontas County
Guide to Pocahontas County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Pocahontas County, Iowa | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Iowa | |
![]() Location of Iowa in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 15, 1851 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Pocahontas |
| Courthouse | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
History
Parent County
1851--Pocahontas County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Conne and Webster Counties prior to organization 11 May 1859. County seat: Pocahontas [1]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Fonda | Gilmore City | Havelock | Laurens | Palmer | Plover | Pocahontas | Rolfe | Varina
Neighboring Counties
Buena Vista | Calhoun | Clay | Humboldt | Kossuth | Palo Alto | Sac | Webster
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Iowa-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 April 2013, at 23:24.
- This page has been accessed 1,281 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

