Pocahontas County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pocahontas County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Pocahontas County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Pocahontas County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Pocahontas County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1821
County Seat Marlinton
Courthouse
Pocahontas County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Pocahontas County Courthouse
900 10th Ave
Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone:304-799-4549
Pocahontas County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records from 1853
Death records from 1854
Marriage probate and land from 1822
Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and county records[1]

History

Historical Sketches of Pocahontas County, West Virginia  

Preserving Pocahontas WV Historic Preservation Project

Pocahontas County Today

Pocahontas County Yesterday

Historical Background Research

Parent County

1821--Pocahontas County was created 21 December 1821 from Pendleton, Greenbrier and Randolph Counties (now West Virginia) and Bath County (now Virginia). 
County seat: Marlinton [2]

Pocahontas County Timeline Formations

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvpocahontas.jpg

African American

Cemeteries

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Obituary Index  

[1] Pocahontas County Tombstone

Transcription Project

Find a Grave - Pocahontas County, West Virginia

Census

For tips on accessing Pocahontas County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census. Church

Join us in  indexing the 1940 Census



Court

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

Bibliography

Land

Local Histories

Pocahontas County histories
Blackhurst, Warren E. Natural History of the Cass Scenic Railroad. Morgantown, West Virginia, West Virginia University Library, 1976. 500.9754 B628.

Clarkson, Roy B. On Beyond Leatherbark: The Cass Saga. Parsons, West Virginia, McClain Printing Company, 1990. 975.487 C613.

Comstock, Jim. Hardesty's Historical and Genealogical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973. 975.4003 H259 1973 v.3.

Edgar, Betsy. Our House: The Birthplace of Pearl S. Buck. Parsons, West Virginia, McClain Printing Company, 1965. B B922e.

Harper, Enid. History of Knapp's Creek Community Consisting of the The Hills, Forst, Knapp's Creek and Minnehaha Neighborhoods, Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1924 (On-line version). Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: H3.

Mill Point, West Virginia, Marvin Chapel Church History Committee. A History of Marvel Chapel and Community Mill Point, West Virginia, 1953-54. s. l., Committee, 1954. 287.6754 M645.

Ott, Edwin. The Mountains Speak in Picture and Story. Fairlea, West Virginia, Farilea Print Shop, 1969. 917.5488 O89.

Pocahontas County Historical Society. Gleanings of Pocahontas County Historical Society. Marlinton, West Virginia, Society, 1980-. Per. ______________________________.


History of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, 1981. Dallas, Texas, Taylor Publishing Company, 1981. 975.487 P739.


Price, Andrew. Selim, the Algerine:Adventures of a Prisoner of Spain, France and Shawnees, Rescued in Pocahontas County in 1759. Marlinton, West Virginia, times Book Company, 1924. B S464p

Pam. Price, William Thomas. Historical Sketches of Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Marlinton, West Virginia, Price Brothers, 1901. 975. 487 P946.

Wilson, Mrs. Stanley. History of Minnehaha Springs Community, Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1928 (On-line versio n). Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: W5.

Maps

Pocahonta County West Virginia Map
Pocahontas County, West Virginia Maps

Pocahontas County Map Pocahontas County, West Virginia Maps

Military

Pocahontas County Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Pocahontas County on page 135.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pocahontas County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pocahontas County, West Virginia:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company D (Pocahontas Rescues).[3]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company F (The Bath Grays).[4]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.[5]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Pocahontas Cavalry) and Company I.[6]
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Pocahontas Riflemen).[7]

Records and histories are available, including:


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Pocahontas County.



Map showing Civil War battles in West Virginia.
World War II

Naturalization


West Virgina, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Newspapers

The Pocahontas Times

Probate

Pocohantas County, West Virginia Will Books 1822-1971


West Virginia Will Books

West Virginia Guides Will Books

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pocahontas County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):210-212. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

 Allegheny Regional Family History Society

Pocahontas McClintic Library

Pocahontas County Free Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Pocahontas County Families

Pocahontas Research Links

Pocahontas Photo's Contruted for use by Pocahontas County WV GEN WEB 

Visit the Home Place of Pearl S Buck 

West Virginia History Benign Betrayl Capitalist Intervention in Pocahontas County 

Pocahontas County West Virginia History and Genealogy

Historical Sketches of Pocahontas County, West Virginia google book

West Virginia USGENWEB ARCHIVES PROJECT POCAHONTAS COUNTY

 
Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.
Learning How toEdit our Wiki Sites
FamilySearch Catalog

 References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pocahontus County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  4. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  5. Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
  6. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  7. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 9,530 times.