Pocklington, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Pocklington

Guide to Pocklington, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pocklington, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pocklington PLU
Registration District Pocklington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Yapham with Meltonby beginning 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Yapham with Meltonby beginning 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1559.

POCKLINGTON (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Wilton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 13 miles (E. by S.) from York, and 195 (N. by W.) from London; containing the townships of Meltonby, Ousthorpe, and Yapham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Pocklington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
POCKLINGTON PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1716-1812, 1837-1886 (gaps)

FS 1559-1901

1559-1901

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

NBI

1780-1837
SANCTON PARISH (1728) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1857, 1864

1728-1839, 1843-1847, 1859-1860

None

JOIN None

1728-1860

None

YAPHAM Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1781-1811

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 578-586. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,458 times.