Pointe Coupee Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Pointe Coupee Parish

Guide to Pointe Coupee Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Pointe Coupee Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 10, 1805
County Seat New Roads
Courthouse
LAPointeCoupeecourthouse.jpg
Address 201 East Main Street
New Roads, LA 70760
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Pointe Coupee Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 


Contents

Parish Courthouse

Pointe Coupee Parish Courthouse
160 E Main Street
New Roads, LA 70760
Phone: 225.638.9596 

Clerk Court has marriage records from 1735,
divorce records from 1800, probate, court
and land records from 1780.[1]

History

Parent Parish

1805--Pointe Coupee Parish was created 10 April 1805 as an original parish.
Parish seat: New Roads [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lapointecoupee.png

African American

Cemeteries

 






Census

Census Pop.
18103,187
18305,942
18407,89832.9%
190025,777
191025,289−1.9%
192024,697−2.3%
193021,001−15.0%
194024,00414.3%
195021,841−9.0%
196022,4883.0%
197022,002−2.2%
198024,0459.3%
199022,540−6.3%
200022,7631.0%
Est. 200622,648[2]−0.5%
Pointe Coupee Parish Census Data[3][4]














Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
  • 1733-1769 - Pointe Coupee Parish Baptism Index 1733-1769. Batch C584291 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1744-1769 - Pointe Coupee Parish Marriage Index 1744-1769. Batch M584291 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana:

- 1st Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company I
- 2nd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company K
- 6th Field Battery, Louisiana Light Artillery (Grosse Tete Flying Artillery)(Confederate)
- Pointe Coupee Artillery, Louisiana (Confederate), Companies A and C
- Siege Train Battalion, Louisiana Artillery (Confederate), Company D
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Pointe Coupeé Parish.

Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.

Louisiana Military History Online

Newspapers

 

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers


Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Pointe Coupee, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Pointe Coupee Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22077.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  4. http://oseda.missouri.edu/mscdc/census/us/trend/counties/S22LA/C22077
  5. 5.0 5.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/c2/Igilouisiana.pdf.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 5,896 times.