Poling, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Poling, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Poling, Sussex
St Nicholas Poling West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Poling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

POLING, (St Nicholas) is an ancient parish, in the hundred of Poling, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 3 miles (S. E.) from Arundel. The church is a neat structure, principally in the later English style, with a tower; the font is of Caen stone. The knights of St. John of Jerusalem had a commandery here, which was eventually granted to the college of Arundel.[1]

A history of the church Poling St Nicholas

The parish church of Poling St Nicholas has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Poling Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

West Sussex Wikipedia List of places of worship in Arun and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Poling, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Poling, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1584-1877 1585-1876
PRTS 1591-1901
1586-1641, 1663-1900
1584-1900
SOPC Undefined


West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1653-1979 Marr 1663-1996 Bur 1662-1985

Bishop's Transcripts 1591-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Poling

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Poling/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,700 times.