Polk County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Polk County

Guide to Polk County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Polk County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Bolivar
Courthouse
Address Polk County Courthouse
102 East Broadway Street
Bolivar, Mo 65613
Phone: 417-326-4031
Polk County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Recorder hasa marriage from 1835 and land records
from 1836 Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
from 1857; Probate Judge has probate records from 1947[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cass  • Clay  • Johnson  • Johnson County, Kansas  • Lafayette  • Ray  • Wyandotte County, Kansas

Christian CountyDouglas CountyPolk CountyWebster CountyDallas CountyLaclede CountyNewton CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyBarton CountyDade CountyJasper CountyVernon CountyCedar CountyHenry CountySt. Clair CountyBates CountyHickory CountyBenton CountyMorgan CountyCamden CountyMOPolk.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Polk County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mopolk.jpg

Migration

Military

Civil War
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
:- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
:- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
:- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K

Civil War Battles

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Polk County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths
  • 1883 - Polk County Death Index, Volume 1, 1883. Batch B582479 at FamilySearch - free.[2]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Genealogical Society

120 E. Jackson
P. O. Box 632
Bolivar, Missouri 65613
Phone: (417) 777-2820
Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~mopolkgs/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pcgsmo

Library

Polk County Library
1690 W. Broadway
Bolivar, MO 65613
Phone: (417) 326-4531
Website: http://www.polkcolibrary.org/default.htm

Family History Centers