Polk County, NebraskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Polk County

Polk County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nebraska
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19
Polk County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Polk County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1856
County Seat Osceola
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Polk County Courthouse
400 Hawkeye Street
P.O. Box 276
Osceola, Nebraska 68651
Phone: 402.747.5431

Contents

County Courthouse

Polk County Courthouse
400 Hawkeye Street
PO Box 276;
Osceola, NE 68651
Phone: 402.747.5431

County judge has probate records.
County Clerk has marriage and land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1856--Polk County was created 26 January 1856 from York County and unorganized territory. County seat: Osceola [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Osceola

Polk

Shelby

Stromsburg

Swede Home (now part of Stromsburg)

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Beulah Cemetery (north of Swede Home)

Blue Ridge Cemetery (north of Gresham)

Graceland Cemetery (Shelby)

Hoffer Cemetery (southeast of Stromsburg)

LaClede Cemetery (north of Polk)

Osceola Cemetery

Pilzno (St. Mary) Cemetery (140th & P Roads)

Pleasant Home Cemetery (west of Polk)

Polk Cemetery

Sacred Heart Cemetery (Shelby)

St. Andrew's Catholic Cemetery #1 (north of Osceola, no longer used)

St. Andrew's Catholic Cemetery #2 (north of Osceola)

St. John's Lutheran Cemetery (north of Shelby, by the river)

Stromsburg Cemetery

Swede Home Cemetery

Swede Plain Cemetery (east of Stromsburg, or north of Polk)

Union Cemetery (south of Shelby)

Valley German Methodist Cemetery (north of Osceola)

Wesley Chapel Cemetery (northeast of Osceola, northwest of Shelby)

Census

For tips on accessing Polk County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Polk County, Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps

Nepolk.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Polk County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Polk County, Nebraska newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Polk County, Nebraska page 433, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:10.
  • This page has been accessed 4,342 times.