Polk County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Polk County

Guide to Polk County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Polk County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Polk County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded Decemeber 22, 1845
County Seat Dallas
Courthouse
Address Polk County Courthouse
850 Main Street Rm 201
Dallas, OR 97338
Phone: 503.623.9217
Polk County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records. [1]

Clerk of Polk County

Dallas was formerly named Cynthian.

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Marrow County, Oregon

22 Decemeber 1845: Polk county was created from Yamhill County. Named James K. Polk, the 11th president of the United States. [2]

Boundary Changes

23 Dec 1847: Benton County set off.

15 Dec 1853: Tillamook County set off.

20 February 1893: Lincoln County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Dallas | Falls City | Independence | Monmouth | Salem | Willamina

Communities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Airlie | Bethel | Bridgeport | Ellendale | Eola | Grand Ronde | Pedee | Perrydale | Rickreall | Valsetz | Zena

Indian Reservation

Grand Ronde (Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community - specifically Chasta, Kalapuya, Molalla, Rogue River, Klickitat, Chinook, Tillamook, French-Canadian (Iroqouian).

Neighboring Counties

Benton | Lincoln | Linn | Marion | Tillamook | Yamhill

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Cemeteries (Rural)

Census

  • 1849 Transcription and Index
  • 1856 Transcription and Index

Church History and Records

Court Records

A wiki artaicle describing an online collection is found Oregon, Polk County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Wiki articles describing land records online are found at Oregon, Polk County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records).

Maps

Orpolk.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:

Linn County records of deaths 1903-1915, 1915-1947 (the cover title of this one is "Register of Physicians, Midwives and Undertakers", death certificates 1903-1947, coroner's inquest 1909-1960, index 1909-1960.

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Websites

Polk County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Polk County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 5,383 times.