Pontefract, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Pontefract

Guide to Pontefract, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pontefract, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Osgoldcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pontefract PLU
Registration District Pontefract
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PONTEFRACT (St.Giles), a borough, market town, and parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Carleton, East Hardwick, Monkhill, Pontefract, and Tanshelf, and the chapelry of Knottingley; and containing 9851 inhabitants, of whom 4669 are in the borough, 23 miles (S.S. W.) from York, and 177½ (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Pontefract exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
PONTEFRACT PARISH (1585) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1585-1641

1585-1641

1585-1641

AC 1544-1812 1544-1812 1544-1812 1544-1812 1544-1812 1544-1812
FS 1585-1910

1585-1909

1776-1903

JOIN None
1585-1642

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Knottingley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Pontefract to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Pontefract page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1842.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464267.

Genealogy

Neyt, E.  James Kersley, M.S.M. The Temperant Colour Sergeant.  Picture of the Kersley family, Pontefract. 1898 with names, and a history of the family.  The hampshire Family Historian, vol. XII,no.2, August 1985, pages 97-99. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,852 times.