Ponteland, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Ponteland, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ponteland, Northumberland
St Marys church Ponteland Northumberland.jpg
St Marys church Ponteland Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PONTELAND (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of BerwickHill, Little Callerton, Coldcoats, Darras-Hall, HighamDykes, Kirkley, Milburn, Milburn-Grange, Ponteland, part of High Callerton, and part of Prestwick. There is a place of worship for Scottish Presbyterians.[1]

PONTELAND, a village, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Castle Ward district, Northumberland. The village stands on the river Pont, 7 miles W of Dudley r. station, and 7½ N W of Newcastle; was formerly called Pont Island. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and an endowed school. The sub-district contains also 5 other parishes, and part of another.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/207 Date: 1762-1844  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Ponteland, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1602-1954, marriages 1602-1987 and burials 1602-1989 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1602-1806 and marriages 1602-1812 for this parish and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1602-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages (1602-1812 incomplete) for Ponteland are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Ponteland (microfiche TN82 and TN88) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

  •  Northumberland Collections Service also has records of baptisms 1870-1923 and deaths 1899-1990 for Ponteland, St. Matthew (Roman Catholic).
  •  Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Newcastle West W.M. Circuit. Records for 1788-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service, Tyne and Wear Archives Service and are included on the IGI (listed as Brunswick Place or Orphan House).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438886.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 August 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:53.
  • This page has been accessed 936 times.