Pontotoc County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pontotoc County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States  Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Pontotoc County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Pontotoc County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Pontotoc County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 February, 1836
County Seat Pontotoc
Courthouse
Address Pontotoc County Courthouse]
PO Box 209;
Pontotoc, MS 38863-0209;
Phone: 662.489.3900
Pontotoc County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Pontotoc County Courthouse
PO Box 209;
Pontotoc, MS 38863-0209;
Phone: 662.489.3900

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records. Clerk Chancery Court has probate, court, and divorce records and land records from 1836. [1]

Beginning Dates for Pontotoc County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1836
1836

History

Parent County

1836--Pontotoc County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
County seat: Pontotoc [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Pontotoc County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pontotoc County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Pontotoc County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pontotoc County. 
- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Miller's)
Company B - Pontotoc Dragoons
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Polk Rangers
Company I - Pontotoc Dragoons
Company K - Pontotoc Dragoons No. 2
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company C - Reub Davis Rebels
- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry (Harris's)
Company A - Weatherall’s Company
Company B - Wood’s Company
Company C - Rye’s Compay
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company G - Pontotoc Rangers also Peery’s Company (county of origin not specified)
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company D - Wilson’s Company
Company E - Mississippi Rangers
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company G – Pontotoc Minute Men
Company H – Coonewah Rifles
Company I – Cherry Creek Rifles
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Ashcraft's)
Company B - Fears’ Company
Company C - Patton’s Company
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
Company G -- Mississippi Volunteers
- 7th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company F - Duncan’s Company
Company I - McKenzie’s Company, aka Young’s Company

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pontotoc County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pontotoc County, Mississippi page 382, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:23.
  • This page has been accessed 7,208 times.