From FamilySearch Wiki
England Hampshire Hampshire Parishes Portsea St George
Guide to Portsea St George, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
PORTSEA (St George) St. George's chapel, a commodious brick structure, was built in 1753. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents (the principal of which, in King-street, is one of the largest and handsomest meeting-houses in the kingdom), Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics; and a synagogue..
|| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288810.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|Links to Hampshire-related articles|
Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
• Peculiar of Old Alresford with New Alresford and Medstead
• Peculiar of Alverstoke with Gosport
• Peculiar of North Baddesley
• Peculiar of Baughurst
• Peculiar of Binstead
• Peculiar of Bishopstoke
• Peculiar of Brighstone aka Brixton
• Peculiar of Burghclere
• Peculiar of Calbourne
• Peculiar of Cheriton with Kilmeston and Tichborne
• Peculiar of Chilbolton
• Peculiar of Chilcombe
• Peculiar of Compton
• Peculiar of Crawley with Hunton
• Peculiar of Droxford with Swanmore, Shidfield, Hill and Midlington
• Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Salisbury
• Peculiar of Easton
• Peculiar of East Meon with Combe, Steep, Ramsdean, Froxfield and Oxenbourne
• Peculiar of Exton
• Peculiar of Fareham with Catisfield and Dean
• Peculiar of Fawley with Exbury, Lepe, Cadlands, Ower, Holbury, Langley, Stanswood, Butsash, Hardley, Stone, Hythe and Brickmerston
• Peculiar of Hambledon with Denmead
• Peculiar of Hannington
• Peculiar of Havant with Leigh and Brockhampton
• Peculiar of Highclere
• Peculiar of Holdenhurst
• Peculiar of Houghton
• Peculiar of Hursley with Otterbourne, Merdon and Silkstead
• Peculiar of Hurstbourne Priors with St Mary Bourne
• Peculiar of Littleton
• Peculiar of Meonstoke with Soberton and Hoe
• Peculiar of West Meon with Privett
• Peculiar of Michelmersh with Braishfield
• Peculiar of Morestead
• Peculiar of Overton with Tadley and Polhampton
• Peculiar of Ovington
• Peculiar of Ringwood with Harbridge
• Peculiar of St. Faith or St. Cross
• Peculiar of South Stoneham and St. Mary Extra with Allington and Shamblehurst
• Peculiar of Twyford with Owslebury and Brambridge
• Peculiar of Upham with Durley
• Peculiar of Bishops Waltham with Hamble and Bursledon
• Peculiar of North Waltham
• Peculiar of Warnford
• Peculiar of Whitchurch with Freefolk and Charlecott
• Peculiar of Winnall
• Peculiar of Wonston with Sutton, Scotney and Cranborne
• Peculiar of East Woodhay with Ashmansworth
• Prerogative Court of Canterbury
• Principal Probate Registry
This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:05.
This page has been accessed 466 times.