Portslade, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Portslade, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fishergate
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PORTSLADE (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 3 miles (E. by N.) from New Shoreham. This parish is bounded on the south by the English Channel, and intersected by the road from Brighton to Portsmouth; the railway between those towns also passes through it, and on the slope to Southwick is a Roman road. The church is principally in the early English style, with an embattled tower; it is supposed to have been erected in the thirteenth century, though the pillars of the nave are Norman, and indicate an earlier date.[1]

Portslade is the name of part of the city of Brighton and Hove in East Sussex Portslade Wikipedia

The Ancient parish church of St Nicolas St Nicolas Sussex Online Parish clerks (OPC) has surviving registers from 1666

The history of the Anglican churches in Portslade is described  Sussex Parish Churches Portslade Churches

Portslade Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) other places of worship include

Baptist Church
Cemetery Chapel
City Coast Church
Former Baptist Church
Former Kingdom Hall
Former Windlesham School Chapel
Kingdom Hall
Our Lady Star of the Sea and St Denis
Salvation Army Citadel
Southern Cross Evangelical Church
St Andrew
St Mary's Mass Centre
St Marye's Convent
United Reformed Church
Wesleyan Church

Portslade Good Shepherd, Sussex was formed from this parish.

See also list of places of worship in Brighton and Hove Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning registration district until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Brighton & Hove The Register Office
Brighton Town Hall
Bartholomew Square
Brighton
BN1 1JA 01273 292016 01273 292019 register.office@brighton hove.gov.uk

Church records

Portslade, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
Portslade, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1608-1640, 1813-1875, 1888-1890
1608-1640, 1664, 1813-1837, 1858-1874

BOYD
1666-1749

IGI 1608-1812 1666-1812
PRTS
1666-1812

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Portslade

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,150 times.