Portsmouth, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Portsmouth

Guide to Portsmouth, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

PORTSMOUTH (St. Thomas à Becket), a seaport, borough, market-town, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Portsea Island, locally in the hundred of Portsdown, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 21 miles (S. E. by E.) from Southampton, and 72 (S. W.) from London; containing, exclusively of the parish of Portsea, which is within the borough. Here are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Portsmouth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[6][7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
PORTSMOUTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1653-1775, 1813-1837

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1654-1775

FS 1654-1873
1653-1872

GENUKI
1653-1700

GENUKI
1701-1775

JOIN
1654-1776

PALL
1790-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Emigration

A major emigration to Canada occurred in 1869-1870. Due to the changes in how ships were constructed and other factors, many Admiralty Dock Workers became unemployed without prospects for other jobs. There were many opportunities to work in Canada and free passage was given under strict guidelines. One stipulation was that married men needed to take their wives and children to Canada with them.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Name changes of road.

Edwards, E. Changing Names of Portsmouth Roads. Some of the streets of portsmouth and Portsea mentioned in the old registers and Census returns have had their names changed over the years.  List of former names, and present  names given. Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XII, no.3, November 1985, page 192-193. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12

Websites


Genealogy

Walcot, N. G. "The Walcots of South East Hampshire." Article covers the history and family tree of Clement Walcot from years 1774-1823.  Article in The Hampshire Family History Journal vol.1, 1974 page 11-12, Family History Ref. 942.27 B2f

Evans, Charles. "The Vining Family of Newport and Portsmouth. Names, dates and other information on the many Vining Family covering years 1623-1774." Article is to be found in The Family History Journal of the South East Hampshire Genealogical Society, no. 5, February 1975, pages 91-93, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2f

Willia, Arthur J. "Register of Persons Examined Concerning Their Settlement". The following list is concerned with those people examined by J.P's in Portsmouth in order to ascertain their last legal place of settlement. The original is in the Portsmouth City Record Office. Article to be found in The Family History Journal of the South East Hampshire Genealogical Society, no. 5, February 1975 pages 97-99. ; Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2f

Hurst, N.H.G. "The Main Line". This article continues the Genealogy of William Main, and concentrates on the brother Reuben, who was Master of the Tug, "Grinder" at the time of the fatal accident. Reuben marries Suzanne Miller in 13th December, 1863, and proceeds onwards with their children. Descendants seem to live mainly in the Portsmouth, Petersfield area, if you look at the current phone book.  Article covers years 1792-1957, and is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, Vol. VIII, no.2, August 1981, pages 69-70. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Evans, D.M.H. "The Linzees of Portsmouth and the Royal Navy". List of Linzee names, and birth and death and place dates, occupation in some cases covering period 1725-1896 and article is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian vol.IX, no.2. August 1982. page 49, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Shotter, George William. "The Shotter Family of Portsmouth". Article contains a small family history of Thomas Shotter, born and died in Portsmouth, whose ancestor had moved from Easebourne, W. Sussex to Portsmouth in 1811. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XI, no. 3, Nov. 1984, pages 137-138, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h and a further article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. XI, no.4. Feb. 1985, page 207-208

Howell, Peter. "What the Papers Said". Article has a copy of the death notice of Lieutenant Commander of the Royal Navy, Henry Briton Howell of Portsmouth. Gives also a list of the chief mourners, and the relationship to him, and a history of his service in the Navy. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI, no.4.Feb 1985,pages227-228, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h.

Perrin, Peg. "From Portsmouth to Victoria. Charles James Bryant. 1830-1898". ; A description of Charles and his life in Maldon, Victoria, Australia, sadly losing 3 wives. Article is in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XV,no2, Aug. 1988, pages 94-95, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 10 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  7. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 15 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  8. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,576 times.