Portwood, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Portwood, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Portwood is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1844 from Stockport [St Mary] Ancient Parish.

Portwood, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

There are two gazetteer entries with slightly different information:

PORTWOOD, is a chapelry in Stockport parish, Cheshire; on the river Mersey at the boundary with Lancashire, and within Stockport borough. It was constituted in 1844; and its post town is Stockport.[1]There is a small place of worship for Methodists.[2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241245.

Church records

Portwood St Paul Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Portwood St Paul Parish (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1817-1909
  NONE
1851-1934
  NONE
1851-1971
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.  

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Chapelry of Portwood, 1851-1971 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P229/3397/1/1-5, 2/1-10, 3/1-4.

Parish registers for Chapelry of Portwood Film
Baptisms, 1851-February 1906.
2105307 Items 5 - 7
Baptisms, January 1906-1953. Marriages, 1851-April 1877.
2105308
Marriages, April 1877-1910.
2105309
Marriages, October 1910-1940. Burials, 1851-September 1886.
2105375
Burials, August 1886-1971.
2105376 Items 1 - 3

Parish register transcripts, 1866-1897 Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Stockport, Cheshire.

Bishops Transcripts:Chapelry of Portwood
Film
Marriages 1866-1884
1655629 Items 10-12
Marriages 1884-1897
1655630 Items 1-2
Non-Conformist Churches

Stockport has numerous churches and chapels. The principal faiths include: 

Stockport, Our Lady and the Apostles (Roman Catholic), Edgeley Road. Founded 1799, rebuilt in 1905.
Stockport, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1851, the present church was Built in 1862. Registers of baptisms 1862–1912, marriages 1863–1934 and burials 1862–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Michael (Roman Catholic). Registers of baptisms 1851–1895, marriages 1856–1882 and burials 1863–1866 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Ambrose (Roman Catholic), Adswood Road. Founded 1939.
Stockport, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Lower Hillgate. Built in 1705.
Stockport, United Reform Church (Hanover Chapel) (Independent/Congregational). Records of baptisms 1816–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office. 

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Stockport

Poor Law Unions

  • For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Portwood (see Brinnington) on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 April 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 5 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 21:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,232 times.