Posey County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Posey County
Guide to Posey County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Posey County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | September 7, 1814 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Mt. Vernon | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Posey County Courthouse PO Box 606; Mt. Vernon, IN 47620 Phone: 812.838.1306 Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
1814--Posey County was created 7 September 1814 from Warrick, Knox and Gibson Counties.
County seat: Mt.Vernon [1]
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
Neighboring Counties
- Gallatin County, Illinois
- Gibson
- Henderson County, Kentucky
- Union County, Kentucky
- Vanderburgh
- White County, Illinois
Parent County
Record Loss
Posey County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Census Records
Cemeteries
LDS Cemetery Records
US Vol. 24 page 78 - Bethlehem Cemetery
Census
For tips on accessing Posey County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Posey County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- African American Residents of Posey County, Indiana (1882) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Register of Negroes in Posey County, Indiana (1853-1855) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Circuit Court historical records of Posey County in the State Archives. This online searchable database indexes cases for the years 1815-1841.
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
Histories
Local Histories
- History of Posey County, Indiana (1913) by John C. Leffel - free at the Internet Archive
- Leonard, William P. 1986. History and directory of Posey County. (Kokomo, Ind: Selby Pub. & Printing.)977.234 H2Le FHL US/CAN BookFHL CollectionGenGateway other libraies
- Goodspeed Publishing Co. 1974. History of Posey County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic). 977.234 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Posey County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military Records
- African American Veterans of Posey County, Indiana (1890) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
War of 1812
Civil War
Civil War service men from Posey County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Posey County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies C, D, H, and Reorganized Company B
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company M
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies A, B, and K
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B, C, and D
- 25th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, and F
- 38th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 58th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 65th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 80th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 91st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A, D, and G
- 136th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
- 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
- Wilder Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
Civil War Books
- "Military History" Chapter 6 in Goodspeed Publishing Co. 1974. History of Posey County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic). (page 441-445),977.234 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I
World War II
Newspapers
Obituaries
Occupations
Other Records
- African Americans in Civilian Conservation Corps, Wadesville, Posey County, Indiana (1938) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Periodicals
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Posey County Courthouse
PO Box 606;
Mt. Vernon, IN 47620
Phone: 812.838.1306
County Clerk has marriage, divorce,
probate and court records from 1815.
County health department Dept has
birth and divorce records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records from 1815
and some military discharge records. [2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
School Records
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
- Cholera Deaths in Mount Vernon, Posey County, Indiana (1873) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Voter Registration
Posey County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Posey County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Posey County, Indiana References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Posey County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:55.
- This page has been accessed 2,414 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
