Pott Shrigley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Pott Shrigley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pott Shrigley, Cheshire
St Christopher's Church, Pott Shrigley Cheshire.jpg
St Christopher's Church, Pott Shrigley Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

POTT-SHRIGLEY, is a township-chapelry, with a village, in Prestbury parish, Cheshire; on the Macclesfield canal, 2 miles E by S of Adlington railway station, and 4 N N E of Macclesfield. The post-town is, Bollington, under Macclesfield.[1]

Pott Shrigley, St Christopher is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1719 from chapelry in  Prestbury, Cheshire  Ancient Parish. It is part of the Macclesfield Arch-Deaconry in the Diocese of Chester. 

Pott Shrigley is a rural hamlet The parish covers a lot of ground and outlying farms and cottages can be found as far as three miles away, almost in Higher Poynton.The parish covers an extensive area; outlying farms and cottages can be found as far as three miles away, almost in Higher Poynton.

The church was originally a chapel of ease for the parish of Prestbury. The parish registers for baptisms begin in 1629; burials and marriages were added in 1685. The churchwardens' accounts start in 1833. The silver communion plate includes a paten of 1576, a chalice of 1622, and a flagon, chalice and two patens of 1711.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Pott Shrigley St Christopher Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Pott Shrigley St Christopher Chapelry (1591) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1679-1696, 1732-1892 (gaps)
1732-1851

BOYD
1685-1775

FS PR's 1591-1909
  NONE
1685-1934
  NONE
1700-1956
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
1679-1753
  NONE
1732-1789
  NONE
FMP (£)   
     
      
     
1685-1956
1685-1956
JOIN
1685-1751

NBI

1685-1956
TGEN
1685-1751

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Pott Shrigley, St. Christopher (C of E). An ancient chapelry in Prestbury parish, becoming the parish church for Pott Shrigley in 1880. Registers of Baptisms 1630–1998, Marriages 1685–1751 & 1880–1984 and Burials 1685–1956 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

Parish registers St Michael Pott Shrigley Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office refernce: P38/1, P38/2/1-2, P38/3, P38/4588/1, P38/4282/1-3, P38/5462/1, P38/4531/16.

Parish registers content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1619-1991.  Burials, 1685-June 1945. Marriages, 1630-1751, 1880-1941.   BRITISH 2105376 Items 4 - 12
Burials, July 1944-1956. Copy grave register. BRITISH 2105377 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Pott-Shrigley, 1679-1851

Records are not filmed in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB/170

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1732-1745, 1747-1761, 1763-1765, 1679-1680, 1692, 1696, 1766-1769, 1771-1799, 1801-1832, 1850-1851. Marriages, 1679. Burials, 1761, 1763-1765, 1732-1736,1737-1739, 1740-1745, 1747-1760, 1801-1802, 1811-1817, 1819-1832. BRITISH 1836023 Item 2
 IGI coverage 1685-1791. Marriages at Pott Shrigley, 1685-1751. BRITISH 88607 Item 2

Additional record sources may be identified in the FamilySearch Catalog

Non-Conformist Churches

Pott Shrigley, Methodist Chapel, Green Close (New Connexion). Built in 1861.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield  (1837–1998)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites 

Pott Shrigley on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,531 times.