Pottawatomie County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pottawatomie County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Pottawatomie County

Guide to Pottawatomie County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Pottawatomie County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Pottawatomie County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1857
County Seat Westmoreland
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Pottawatomie County Courthouse
207 N. 1st Street
Westmoreland, Kansas 66549-0187
Phone: 785.457.3314


Contents

County Information

Pottawatomie County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1885 1855 1885 1860 1856 1856

County Courthouse

Pottawatomie County Courthouse
207 N First; Westmoreland
KS 66549-0187
Phone: 785.457.3314

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records 1885-1910.
Unified Court System has divorce, probate and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1857--Pottawatomie County was created 20 February 1857 from Riley and Calhoun(old) Counties.
County seat: Westmoreland [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Kspottawatomie.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pottawatomie County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Pottawatomie County, Kansas Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pottawatomie County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Pottawatomie and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pottawatomie County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2015, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 5,722 times.