Potter Heigham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Potter Heigham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Potter Heigham, Norfolk
Potter Heigham.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Happing
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEIGHAM, POTTER (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the hundred of Happing, E. division of Norfolk, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Acle. [1]

Potter Heigham St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the Waxham deanery of the  Diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Church Records

Potter Heigham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
Potter Heigham, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1645-1903
1626-1839
1627-1902
FS ATs 1725-1811 1725-1811 1725-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1903 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1902
JOIN
1626-1817

NTA 1645-1903
1626-1838
1627-1902

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 525/ 1-8

Poor Law Unions

For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438861.

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/PotterHeigham.htm transcript of 1891 census

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 466-470. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 861 times.