Poulton le Fylde, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Poulton le Fylde, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here's a List of Chapelries in the Parish of Poulton le Fylde

St Chad's Church, Poulton-le-Fylde.jpeg

Contents

Parish History

POULTON-IN-THE-FYLDE St Chad, a markettown and parish, in the union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire; containing, with the new town of Fleetwood, and the townships of Carleton, Hardhorn with Newton, Marton, and Thornton, 16 miles west by northwest of Preston. At Fleetwood, Marton, and Thornton are other livings. Other places in the parish include: Carleton, Fleetwood, Fleetwood on Wyre, Stanah, Great Carleton, Hardhorn with Newton, Little Carleton, and Great and Little Carleton. The Wesleyans have a place of worship in the town, where also a Roman Catholic chapel, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, was built in 1813.[1]

Resources

Church records

Online Records

Poulton le Fylde parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
POULTON LE FYLDE ST CHAD PARISH (1591) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1591-1900 1592-1837  1683-1854
LOPC 1591-1900 1592-1900 1592-1900
LBMD 1837-1889 1837-1983 1837-1889
FMP None 1592-1837 None
JOIN 1813-1837
FLEETWOOD ST PETER Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1900  1842-1900  None
LOPC 1841-1901 1842-1900  None
LBMD None 1842-1986 1890-1975 
MARTON ST NICHOLAS Chapelry (1873) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1873-1889 - part.  None                  1873-1889 - part.        
MARTON ST PAUL Chapelry (1751) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1768-1770; 1823-1900 1806-1828
LOPC 1828-1901 1838-1900 1805-1901 
LBMD None None None
THORNTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1836-1900 1838-1900 1837-1900
LBMD   1838-1986 None

Original Records

Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston PR1 2RE.

Microfilmed copies of original Poulton le Fylde parish and chapelry registers are available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. and its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide. These films may be ordered for and original baptism, marriage and burial entries may be viewed at these centers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 602-605. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,204 times.