Poulton le Sands, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Poulton le Sands, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

See also Poulton.

POULTON-LE-SANDS, a chapelry, in the parish of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles northwest from Lancaster; containing, with the hamlets of Bare and Torrisholme. Poulton, Bare, and Torrisholme together form one township. The chapel, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was built in 1745, and rebuilt in 1841.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Poulton le Sands chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


POULTON-LE-SANDS HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1813) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1900 1848-1900  None
LOPC None None None
FMP  None None None
LANCASTER ST MARY'S(ancient parish containing POULTON-LE-SAND Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-1998 None 
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Poulton le Sands and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 602-605. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,066 times.