Power County, Idaho GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Power County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||January 30, 1913|
|County Seat||American Fall|
|Address|| Power County Courthouse|
American Falls, ID 83211-1200
Phone: (208) 226-7611
Fax: (208) 226-7612
Power County Courthouse
American Falls, ID 83211-1200
Phone: (208) 226-7611
Fax: (208) 226-7612
County Clerk has marriage records from 1914and divorce records from 1916.
Probate Court has probate records.
Magistrate Court has court records Assessor Office has land records. 
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Power County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Power County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Power County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in American Falls.
There are many cemeteries in Power County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Power County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records. Power County Schools created a very useful school census beginning in 1913 and continuing into the 1930's. They are listed by school district and contain the names of the children, ages, and the names of their parents. Some districts are missing for a year or two and it appears that not all districts were opperating. The originials are located at the County Historical Society Library and have been imaged by the Family History Library.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
- List of Power County Stakes and Wards to about 1948.
County Commissioners' Records
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Some of the early court records of Power County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Power County courthouse in American Falls, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Power County that have been microfilmed include:
- Judgment docket, 1913-1928; index, 1913-1984
Historical Sketch of Power County (From the Power County, Idaho Gen Web site)
Land and Property
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Power County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in American Falls, Idaho.
At this point, neither the Idaho State Archives nor the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed land and property records of Power County. It is suggested that you check Bingham, Blaine or Oneida counties from which Power County was formed.
- A digital Power County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Power County, Idaho is available online.
Early migration routes to and from Power County, Idaho Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Power County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452221) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Power County. The originals are held in the Power County courthouse in American Falls, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
- American Falls Press - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1927-1934
Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives Boise and have been indexed. Power County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index which is available online.
Estate case files have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise. The registers that act as the index and list actions for each case remain in Power County. The Family History Library digital camera team has imaged the registers and the on-line results should soon be available .
Any existing and current probate records should be housed in the Power County courthouse in American Falls and may be accessed there.
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Power County should be in the courthouse in American Falls and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Idaho Vital Records State Department of Health or the Power County Clerk's office . See also Idaho Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
There are 137 Power County births recorded in the online Idaho Births and Christenings.
Over 1200 marriages, 1913-1941, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Deaths occurring in Power County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Idaho Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records) gives details about the collection that covers the years of 1907-1965.
Societies and Libraries
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- American Falls District
308 Roosevelt St
American Falls, ID 83211
Phone: (208) 226-2335
- Rockland School/Community
321 E Center
Rockland, ID 83271
Phone: (208) 548-2222
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- The Power County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Power County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Power, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- ↑ census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- ↑ quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap4.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- This page was last modified on 1 April 2015, at 20:21.
- This page has been accessed 11,238 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More