Poynton with Worth, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Poynton with Worth, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Poynton with Worth, Cheshire
Poynton St George Cheshire.jpg
Poynton St George Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723
Bishop's Transcripts: 1723
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Poynton with Worth or Poynton, is a chapelry, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; containing, with the township of Worth. The chapel, dedicated to St. Thomas, was rebuilt by Sir G. Warren, in 1786.[1] 

Poynton St George was created as an ancient chapelry in Prestbury, Cheshire Ancient Parish. The church dates from 1859.

The name of Poynton is of Saxon origin, but the settlement was omitted in the Domesday survey. The first mention of the manor of Poynton is in 1289 when it was part of the barony of Stockport. Past names include Ponynton and Poynington.

Sir George Warren was a promoter of the extension of the turnpike road from Manchester by way of Hazel Grove to Sandon in Staffordshire where it joined what is now the A51 road.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Poynton with Worth St George chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Poynton with Worth St George Chapelry (1723) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1723-1753

CPR 1723-1871
1723-1871
1840-1871
FS PR's 1723-1912
  NONE
1723-1934
  NONE
1840-1883
  NONE
FS BT'S 1723-1863   NONE
1723-1753
  NONE
1840-1864
  NONE
JOIN
1723-1753

TGEN
1723-1753

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Parish transcripts can be searched online at Cheshire Parish Register project.

High Lane, St. Thomas (C of E). The parish church for part of Poynton from 1860.

Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Poynton.
Poynton, St. George (C of E). An ancient chapelry in Prestbury parish, becoming the parish church for Poynton and Worth in 1871.  Registers of Baptisms 1723–1988, Marriages 1723–53 & 1859–1994 and Burials 1795–1941 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Poynton was a village, township, and a chapelry in Prestbury parish. It later became a parish.Cheshire Record Office: P247/5123/1, 4-7, 14, P247/1/1-2, P247/2/1-2, P247/3.

Parish Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1723-1868.  Marriages, 1723-1753. Baptisms, 1795-1868 Chapelry of Norbury, 1812-1829. BRITISH 2149189 Items 2 - 5
Baptisms, 1868-1959. Marriages, 1859-1947. BRITISH 2149188
Baptisms, 1868-1958. Marriages, 1859-1936. BRITISH 2149189 Items 6 - 9
Banns of marriages, 1859-1934. BRITISH 2149189 Item 1
Marriages, 1936-1947. Burials, 1840-1883. BRITISH Film 2149219 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Poynton and Norbury, 1723-1864 Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.
Includes the joint registers with the Chapelry of Norbury, 1813-1829. Chapelry of Poynton in Prestbury parish; chapelry of Norbury in Stockport parish.Cheshire Record Office: EDB 171 

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, 1723-1726, 1733-1753. Baptisms,1727-1733, 1754-1802, 1804-1805, 1807-1827, 1829, 1831-1840, 1863. Baptisms, burials, 1840-1862. BRITISH1647669 Item 3
Baptisms, burials, 1863, burials, 1864. BRITISH 1647670 Item 1
Marriages at Poynton-cum-Worth, 1723-1753. BRITISH 88607 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Poynton, Baptist Union Chapel, Park Lane. Built in 1867.
  • Poynton, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Park Lane. Built in 1845.
  • Poynton, Methodist Chapel (Free), Clumber Road. Built in 1846.

Non-Conformist Records:

Register of baptisms for Poynton United Methodist Free Church, 1857-1943 Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England. 1857-1867, 1897-1943 FHL BRITISH Film 1655521 Items 2-3
Cheshire Non-conformist records are available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837–80) after 1880 see Poynton-with-Worth, Prestbury sub-district of MacclesfieldPost

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Poynton with Worth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: (1848). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 3,386 times.