Prairie County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Arkansas
Prairie County
Guide to Prairie County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Prairie County, Arkansas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Arkansas | |||||||
![]() Location of Arkansas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | November 25, 1846 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Des Arc | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Prairie County Courthouse PO Box 278; Des Arc, AR 72040-0278 Phone: 870.256.3741 | ||||||
| |||||||
County Courthouse
Prairie County Courthouse
PO Box 278;
Des Arc, AR 72040-0278
Phone: 870.256.3741
County Clerk in Devalls, Bluff, Arkansas has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1885,
naturalization records 1907-1912 and military discharge records from 1917[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| |
1885 |
|
|
1885 |
1885 |
History
Parent County
- 1846--Prairie County was created 25 November 1846 from Pulaski and Monroe Counties. County seat: Des Arc
- History of Prairie County Marilyn Sickel Prairie Co. ARGenweb
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Prairie County boundary changes.
Variant Spellings
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
African Americans
Bible Records
Cemeteries
- Index to Prairie County Burials this also has links to cemetery histories and listing.
Census
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Genealogy
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
- Map of Prairie County - 1895 Prairie Co.ARGenweb
Military
Civil War
- Confederate Patriots' Index Marilyn Sickel Prairie Co. ARGenweb
- Men from this county served in Louis' Company, Arkansas Militia (Confederate) and the 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate).[2]
Naturalization
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Prairie County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Prairie County, Arkansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Occupations
Probate Records
Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.
- Wills and Probate Prairie County ARGenweb
Taxation
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
Birth
Marriage
- 1854-1962 - Prairie County Marriage Books A-O Index 1854-1962 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1854-1924 - Prairie County Marriage Books A-K Index 1854-1924 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- Marriages ARGenweb
Death
- Index to Prairie County Death Certificates beginning Feb 1, 1914 to 1947 - Marilyn Sickel Prairie County ARGenweb
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- Independence County Historical Society
- White River Regional Library
- Lyon College
- UACCB
- Old Independence Regional Museum
Family History Centers
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Independence County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
- ↑ Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
| This Arkansas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 16:17.
- This page has been accessed 1,592 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

