Prees, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngShropshire Gotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Prees, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Wem PLU
Registration District Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Market Drayton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Prebend of Prees or Pipe Minor
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PREES (St. Chad), a parish, in the union of Wem, Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Salop; There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists; and charity schools with several small endowments.[1] Prees is an Ancient Parish in the county of Shropshire. Other places in the parish include: Darliston, Fauls, Faulsgreen, Willaston, Millenheath, Sandford, Steel, and Mickley.

PREES (St. Chad), a parish, in the union of Wem, Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Salop; containing 3270 inhabitants, of whom 1538 are in the township of Prees with Steel, 4¾ miles (N. E.) from Wem. The parish comprises between 13,000 and 14,000 acres, and is intersected by the road from Whitchurch to Shrewsbury, and by that from Chester to Birmingham. Prees once had a weekly market and annual fair, the former of which has been long disused: two fairs are now held on the second Mondays in April and October. A considerable traffic is carried on in coal, lime, and slate, by means of the Quise Brook canal, which runs through the parish. The living is a vicarage (with the great tithes of the township of Whixall annexed), valued in the king's books at £10; net income, £471; patron and appropriator, the Bishop of Lichfield. The glebe comprises 68 acres. The church, an ancient cruciform structure, with a tower of modern erection, contains two old figures of Moses and Aaron, and some pieces of tessellated pavement; also several monuments to the ancestors of the late General Lord Hill, who was born here in 1772. At Whixall and Calverhall are chapels. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists; and charity schools with several small endowments.

From: , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 605-609. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51222 Date accessed: 09 May 2011.

In 1856 Fauls Holy Immanuel was created from this parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Prees, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Prees, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1653-1837

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1597-1868

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1669-1849 Marr 1669-1847 Bur 1669-1849

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474579.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Prees/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 605-609. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 August 2014, at 18:44.
  • This page has been accessed 960 times.