Prescot, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
See "A Comprehensive List of Prescot Parish Chapelries"
Contents |
Parish History
PRESCOT St Mary, a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 8 miles east by northeast of Liverpool. The parish consists of the chapelries of Farnworth, Rainford, St. Helen's, and Great Sankey, and the townships of Bold, Cronton (which had at one time, 31 Nonconformist chapels in the area--mostly Welsh), Cuerdley, Ditton (Hough Green), Eccleston, Parr, Penketh, Prescot, Rainhill, Sutton, Whiston, Widness, and Windle.
There are chapels at Eccleston, Farnworth, Parr, Rainford, Rainhill, St. Helen's, Great Sankey, and Sutton.
The Unitarians, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyan Methodists, have places of worship in the town; and at Portico, a mile and a half on the east, is a Roman Catholic chapel, built in 1790, and dedicated to St Nicholas.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Prescot St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| PRESCOT ST MARY PARISH (1531) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1580-1632, 1770-1776, 1813-1828, 1861-1900 | 1576-1900 | 1770-1775, 1812-1900 | ||
| LOPC | 1665-1900 | 1667-1837, 1845-1900 | 1665-1900 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1961 | 1911-1969 | None | ||
| AC | 1531-1666 | 1531-1666 | 1531-1666 | ||
| ECCLESTON ST THOMAS Chapelry (1839) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1864-1887 | 1841-1885 | 1839-1849, 1858-1903 | ||
| LOPC | 1839-1872 | 1841-1876 | 1839-1865, 1878-1884, 1896-1903 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1841-1955 | None | ||
| ECCLESTON-ST HELENS CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1838) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1838-1900 | 1840-1868 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1838-1900 | 1840-1900 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| FARNWORTH ST WILFRID Chapelry (1538) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1538-1915 | 1538-1909 | 1727-1873, 1895-1953 | ||
| LOPC | 1728-1920 | 1600-1611, 1728-1875 | 1728-1812 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1879 | None | 1837-1956 | ||
| AC | 1538-1612 | 1538-1612 | 1538-1612 | ||
| HOUGH GREEN (DITTON) ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1870) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1870-1927 | 1875-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| PARR ST PETER Chapelry (1835) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1869-1888 | None | 1860-1861 | ||
| LOPC | 1845-1908 | 1846-1894 | 1866-1881 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1846-1974 | None | ||
| FREG | 1835-1905 | None | None | ||
| RAINFORD ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1702) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1765-1881 | 1800-1837, 1876-1877 | 1765-1867 | ||
| LOPC | 1676-1686, 1697-1700, 1718-1881 | 1719-1868 | 1718-1870 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1974 | None | None | ||
| AC | 1702-1812 | 1704-1812 | 1702-1812 | ||
| FREG | 1765-1833 | None | 1765-1812 | ||
| RAINHILL Chapelry (1688) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1690-1720 (partial) | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1688-1691 | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| GREAT SANKEY ST MARY Chapelry (1649) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1649-1880 | 1658-1683, 1730-1750, 1842-1913 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1728-1937 | 1730-1752, 1842-1938 | 1735-1909 | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| ST HELENS Chapelry (1680) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1713-1850 | 1724-1855 | 1765-1767, 1775-1800, 1821-1851 | ||
| LOPC | 1676-1687, 1697-1700, 1813-1850 | 1813-1850 | 1697-1700, 1813-1850 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1935 | None | 1837-1850 | ||
| AC | 1713-1812 | 1713-1837 | 1713-1812 | ||
| SUTTON ST NICHOLAS Chapelry (1849) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1849-1873 | 1850-1893 | 1850-1871, 1887-1888 | ||
| LOPC | 1849-1892 | 1850-1897 | 1850-1888 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1850-1968 | None | ||
| FMP | None | None | None | ||
| FREG | 1849-1892 | 1850-1897 | None | ||
| WHISTON Chapelry (1865) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1868-1870; 1892-1894 | None | 1868-1870; 1892-1894 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1911-1960 | None | ||
| WIDNES ST MARY Chapelry (1856) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1900 | None | ||
Original Records
The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Prescot St. Mary parish for the years 1576-1900. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306903. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Court records
A manor court baron was held here six times a year; and a court leet on the festival of Corpus Christi, when a coroner for the manor and liberty is appointed.
There is a court of requests, for the recovery of debts to any amount, at which the steward of the manor presides; and petty-sessions for the Prescot division of the hundred take place once a month.[2]
Newspapers
Furmsten, Chris. Newspaper Indexes. A four month extraction of names from the Prescot Reporter a weekly newspaper, listing name, date, event, occupation, age, and place. Covers years Nov. 1859-April 1860. In the journal Hel Achau, #20, 1986, pages 9-13. Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 605-609. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 605-609. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2013, at 05:30.
- This page has been accessed 733 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More