Prestbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Prestbury

Guide to Prestbury, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Prestbury 1956 Cheshire contributor Dr Neil Clifton.jpg

Contents

Parish History

PRESTBURY (St. Peter), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; comprising the town of Macclesfield. The parish is the largest in the county, consisting of 32 townships, of which nine are in the parochial chapelry of Macclesfield; the others are, Adlington, Birtles, Bollington, Bosley, Butley, Capesthorne, Chelford, Fallybroome, Henbury with Pexhall, Lyme-Handley, Marton, Mottram St. Andrew, Newton, Poynton, Prestbury, North Rode, Siddington, Tytherington, Upton, Lower and Old Withington, Woodford, and Worth. The dissenters have also numerous places of worship.[1]

Prestbury St Peter is an ancient parish and was an extraordinarily large parish with a number of chapelries. The parish church of St Peter, a building largely of the 13th century, was restored in 1879 by Sir George Gilbert Scott. In the churchyard is the church’s Norman predecessor, a chapel largely rebuilt in 1747.


Prestbury, Norman chapel Cheshire.jpg

At the time of the Norman Conquest, the parish consisted of thirty-five townships:

Adlington Adlington, Cheshire      Kettleshulme See Prestbury St Peter      Prestbury  
Alderley Alderley, Cheshire
Lower Withington Lower Withington, St Peter,Cheshire
Rainow Rainow, Cheshire
Birtles Birtles,St Catherine
Lyme Handley  
Siddington Siddington, Cheshire
Bollington Bollington, Cheshire
Macclesfield Macclesfield, Cheshire
Sutton  
Bosley Bosley, Cheshire
Macclesfield Forest Macclesfield Forest St Stephen,Cheshire
Taxl  
Butley  
Marton Marton St. James,(near Congleton) Cheshire
Tytherington  
Capesthorne Capesthorne, Holy Trinity, Cheshire
Mottram St Andrew  
Upton  
Chelford Chelford, Cheshire
Newton Newton in Mottram, Cheshire
Wildboarclough  
Fallibroome  
North Rode North Rode, Cheshire
Wincle Wincle, Cheshire
Gawsworth Gawsworth, Cheshire
Old Withington  
Woodford Woodford, Christ Church, Cheshire
Henbury Henbury St Thomas, Henbury cum Pexall, Cheshire
Pott Shringley Pott Shrigley, Cheshire
Worth  
Hurdsfield Hurdsfield Holy Trinity, Cheshire
Poynton Poynton, Cheshire
   

Prestbury township was not mentioned in the Domesday Book, perhaps because information was not supplied or because Prestbury was only a church, not a manor.

Twelve of the other townships are mentioned. Butley was valued at 2 Shillings at the time of the Domesday Survey, compared with 30 Shillings at the time of Edward the Confessor.  Adlington and Macclesfield were both worth 20 Shillings and Siddington 5 Shillings. The other eight townships were valued "Waste".

The church administered the civil as well as ecclesiastical affairs of the parish until the Local Government Act 1894 created rural districts and civil parishes. Three of the townships, Butley, Fallibroome and Prestbury, constitute the present civil parish of Prestbury.

St Peter's Church, Prestbury before the restoration designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott. Note the external staircase leading to a gallery at the western end of the church.


St Peter's Church, Prestbury 1880.gif

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Prestbury St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books Online - free
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Prestbury St Peter Parish (1560) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1704-1706, 1826-1830, 1836-1839
1825-1838

BOYD
1626-1812

FSBOOK 1560-1636 1560-1636 1560-1636
FS PR's 1560-1909
  NONE
1560-1934
  NONE
1560-1978
  NONE
FS BT'S 1596-1858   NONE
1596-1839
  NONE
1596-1858
  NONE
JOIN
1560-1812

PRTS
1789-1812

TGEN
1597-1789

Prestbury, St. Peter (Church of England) is a very large ancient parish, originally serving the townships of: Adlington, Birtles, Bollington (near Macclesfield), Bosley, Butley, Capesthorne, Chelford, Fallibroome, Henbury cum Pexall, Hurdsfield, Kettleshulme, Lower Withington, Lyme Handley, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Marton (near Congleton), Mottram St. Andrew, Newton (near Prestbury), North Rode, Old Withington, Pott Shrigley, Poynton, Prestbury, Rainow, Siddington, Sutton (near Macclesfield), Tytherington, Upton (near Macclesfield), Wildboarclough, Wincle, Woodford and Worth.  The original registers from 1560 are still held at the church, but registers of Baptisms 1560–1990, Marriages 1560–1969 and Burials 1560–1978 can be viewed on microfilm at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. CRO reference no.: CMB/1/1-7, 2/1-4, 3/1-48, 4/1-11, 5/1-7.

Bishop's transcripts of records for Prestbury, Chelford, Adlingron, Saltersford-cum-Kettleshulme, 1596-1858, are also on microfilm in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. CRO reference no.: EDB 172.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click 'Options' and click 'List contiguous parishes.'

Records are also on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, including:

Parish register Content: FHL Film 
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1560-1747. 2093600
Marriages, 1748-1754. Burials, 1748-1812. Baptisms, 1748-September 1892. Includes entries from Adlington, Chelford and Saltersford chapelries to 1812. 2093544
Baptisms, April 1892-1990. Marriages, 1754-July 1786. 2093545
Marriages, June 1786-June 1812. 2093546
Marriages, June 1812-July 1828. 2093547
Marriages, July 1828-January 1840. 2093548
Marriages, January 1840-1847. 2093549
Marriages, July 1847-March 1853. 2093683
Marriages, 1853-January 1859. 2093805
Marriages, January 1859-October 1865. 2093806
Marriages, October 1865-March 1871. 2093807
Marriages, March 1871-March 1879. 2093808
Marriages, March 1879-October 1887. 2093809
Marriages, October 1887-January 1958. 2093810
Marriages, February 1958-March 1969. Banns of marriages, May 1844-November 1859. 2092997
Banns of marriages, November 1859-May 1883. 2093906
Banns of marriages, February 1854-September 1877, July 1882-October 1887. 2093907
Burials, January 1813-July 1955. 2093922
Burials, July 1955-June 1978. 2093923 Item 1


Bishop's transcripts Content: FHL Film 
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1596, 1600, 1608, 1612, 1617, 1619-1637, 1639-1641, 1663-1683, 1688-1715. 1751913 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1715-1744, 1747-1778, 1780, 1802-1805. 1751914 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1805-1819, baptisms, 1820. 1751955
Baptisms, 1820-1825. Burials, 1820-1824. Marriages, 1821-March 1825. 1751956
Baptisms, 1826-1830. Marriages, March 1825-1830. Burials, 1825-1830. 1751957
Burials, March-December 1830. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1835. 1751958
Marriages, burials, 1835.  Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1836-1838. 1751959
Baptisms, burials, 1855-1858. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1779-1801, 1839-1840. 1751960

 

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Baptist
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Church records for the Bourne Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sutton (near Macclesfield), 1906-1960 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 8/1, 5

Church records for the Bourne Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sutton (near Macclesfield) Film
Baptisms, 1919-1959. Marriages, 1906-1960.
2299525 Items 8 - 9

 Church records for the Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bridge Street, Sutton, 1824-1966 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 9/1, EMS 9/2/1-8, EMS 9/3.

Church records for the Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bridge Street, Sutton, 1824-1966 Film
Births, baptisms and burials, 1824-1837
20053 Items 2 - 3
Baptisms, 1837-1966. Marriages, 1861-1954. Burials, 1845-1916, 1927-1931, 1943-1947, 1959.
2299525 Items 10 - 19

Church records for the High Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bollington, 1901-1950 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 194/2/1-3.

Church records for the High Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bollington Film
Marriages, 1901-1950
2299418 Items 24 - 26

Church records for the Wellington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bollington, 1841-1923 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 16/1-2.

Church records for the Wellington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bollington Film
Baptisms, 1841-1923
2299418 Items 27 - 28

Church records, 1808-1837 Wesleyan Church Withington Public Record Office no. : RG-4 series no. 553.

Church records Wesleyan Church Withington Film
Births and baptisms, 1808-1837
1482356 Item 1
Another filming
20053 Item 9

Church registers for Grimshaw Lane New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Bollington, 1889-1956 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 193/1.

Church registers for Grimshaw Lane New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Bollington Film
Baptisms, 1889-1956
2299418 Item 23

Church registers, Bollington Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, 1812-1837 London P.R.O. nos.: RG-4 series nos. 711, 2148.

Church registers, Bollington Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Film
Births and baptisms, 1812-1836.
20046 Item 1
Burials, 1831-1837.
917110 Item 4
Another partial filming, 1992. Burials, 1831-1837.
1818023 Item 5


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here are some online maps and gazetteers for England:

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: (1848). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 21:57.
  • This page has been accessed 5,661 times.