Presteigne with Discoed, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Presteigne with Discoed, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Radnorshire, Wales. See also Presteigne with Discoed, Radnorshire.

Presteigne with Discoed, Herefordshire
Presteigne St Andrew Powys.jpg
Presteigne St Andrew Powys
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Radnor; Wigmore
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Presteigne PLU
Registration District Presteigne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

Presteigne, market town and township with ry. sta., Radnorshire, and parish, partly also in Herefordshire - parish. Town, on river Lugg, 6½ miles NE. of New Radnor. Presteigne is an ancient town, and was a borough by prescription. It has a town hall, a shire hall (1829), and an endowed grammar school founded in the time of Queen Elizabeth. Presteigne formed one of the Radnor District of Parliamentary Boroughs.[1]

Presteigne St Andrew with Discoed is an Ancient Parish historically in the county of Herefordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Lower Kinsham, Nash, Lower Hampton, Litton and Cascob, Little Brampton, Willey, Combe, Rodd, Rodd, Nash and Little Brampton, Stapleton, and Discoed.

See also Presteigne Wikipedia and St Andrew church information.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was withinPresteigne registration district

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Presteigne

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887. Accessed and adapted 9 July 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 14:23.
  • This page has been accessed 861 times.