Preston, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Preston, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Preston
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PRESTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Preston, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 1¾ mile (N. N. W.) from Brighton. The London and Brighton and the Lewes and Brighton railways pass through the parish. In the parish are cavalry barracks, and the water-works for supplying Brighton. The church is in the early English style, with a square embattled tower: on the eastern wall were discovered, a few years since, some ancient paintings, ascertained to be of the time of Edward I.[1]

Preston St Peter is an Ancient parish in the village of Preston which is now part of the city of Brighton and Hove East Sussex. The church of St Peter is adjacent to Preston Manor Wikipedia and is now a redundant Anglican church St Peter's Church Preston Village Brighton Wikipedia which is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust having been declared redundant in 1990 by the Diocese of Chichester. The Church has been designated as a grade II* listed building.British listed building

Preston Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

The parish church of Preston is  Preston St John the Evangelist St John the Evangelist Church Preston Village Wikipedia and has been designated as a grade II listed building.British listed building

Preston St John the Evangelist Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

other places of worship in Preston include

Calvary Evangelical Church
Clermont Congregational Church
Clermont United Reformed Church
Elim Pentecostal Church
Florence Road Baptist Church
Our Lady of Lourdes Convent Chapel
Preston Park Methodist Church
St Augustine Anglican Church Preston Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Mary Roman Catholic Church Preston Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Saviour Anglican Church Preston Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Stanford Avenue Methodist Church

From this parish were formed

Preston St Matthias Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Richard Hollingdean Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also list of places to worship in Brighton and Hove

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Preston, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)[3]
Preston, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1551-1785
TGEN 1544-1784 1514-1752 1539-1812

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Preston

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Preston/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Sussex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 979 times.