Preston All SaintsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Preston All Saints, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

Preston.-- parl. and mun. bor., par. and township, port, and manufacturing and market town, N. Lancashire, on Lancaster Canal and on river Ribble, near the head of its estuary, 28 miles NE. of Liverpool, 31 NW. of Manchester, and 209 from London by rail . [1]


The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Preston All Saints chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Preston St John to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


PRESTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1848-1900 1864-1900 None
LBMD None 1864-2008 None
PRESTON ST JOHN(ancient parish containing PRESTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1611-1635, 1732, 1767-1792, 1795-1900 1611-1631, 1654-1704, 1729-1906 1731-1732, 1763-1792, 1795-1946
LOPC 1753-1770, 1776-1825, 1828-1861, 1863-1932 1611-1635, 1726-1839, 1841-1847, 1868-1902 1753-1770, 1775-1792, 1795-1827, 1858-1861, 1864-1872
LBMD
1837-1990 1878-1903
FMP None 1609-1837 None
AC 1611-1635 1611-1635 1611-1635


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Preston All Saints and comprising the whole ancient parish of Preston St John to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTON ST JOHN PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887.

Genealogy

Mankall, Roland.  The Gregson Line.  History, birth and death certificates and family trees of James Gregson and Alice Richardson his wife, dating from 1833-1990, with the following surnames, Dietlin, Flint, Tingey, Stehlin, Henis, Scholden, Demander, Diekirch, Webb, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society, vol. 13, no. 4, pages 20-25, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/354 Date Accessed 1 October, 2013
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,533 times.