Preston Gubbals, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Preston Gubbals, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston Gubbals, Shropshire
St Martin Preston Gubbals Shropshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wem
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Preston Gubbals St Martin is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Shropshire, created in 1746 from chapelry in  Prees, Shropshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Merrington and Bomere Heath.

PRESTON-GUBBALS (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Atcham, liberties of the town of Shrewsbury, N. division of Salop, 4¾ miles (N.) from Shrewsbury; containing, with the township of Merrington, 388 inhabitants, of whom 200 are in Preston-Gubbals township. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of the family of Jones: the tithes have been commuted for £167.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Preston Gubbals like this:

PRESTON-GUBBALS, a parish in Atcham district, Salop; adjacent to the Crewe and Shrewsbury and to the Shrewsbury and Oswestry railways, 1½ mile W of Hadnall r. station, and 4½ N of Shrewsbury. It contains the township of Merrington and the hamlet of Bomere-Heath; and has a post-office under Shrewsbury. Acres, 2, 281. Rated property, £2, 471. Pop. in 1851, 393; in 1861, 478. Houses, 106. The property is subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, £129. Patron, Dowager Lady Tyrwhitt. The church is ancient; and there are an Independent chapel, and charities £5.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Preston Gubbals parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PRESTON GUBBALS PARISH (1601) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1560-1868 1810-1837
JOIN
1755-1837

MLOC 1601-1812
1601-1812
1601-1812

Preston Gubbals Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1630-1868 Marr 1630-1837  Bur 1630-1867

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474591.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/PrestonGubbals/index.html

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51223 Date accessed: 13 May 2011.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,195 times.