Preston Holy Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Preston Holy Trinity, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston Holy Trinity, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1815
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

Preston Holy Trinity was a created as a chapelry from, and laying within the ancient parish of Preston St John, in the county of Lancashire, built by 1816.
The church closed in the 1950's. The church was demolished in 1951. A car park now occupies the former location which is slightly west of the Ringway.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

The [chapelry] of the Holy Trinity is a neat stone edifice in the later English style, with a square embattled tower crowned by pinnacles; it was erected in 1815."[1] It lay within the civil parish boundaries of St John Preston.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Preston Holy Trinity chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Preston St John to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


PRESTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1815) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1815-1900 1863-1900 None
LOPC 1815-1900 1865-1900 1816-1855
LBMD
1865-1949
PRESTON ST JOHN(ancient parish containing PRESTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1611-1635, 1732, 1767-1792, 1795-1900 1611-1631, 1654-1704, 1729-1906 1731-1732, 1763-1792, 1795-1946
LOPC 1753-1770, 1776-1825, 1828-1861, 1863-1932 1611-1635, 1726-1839, 1841-1847, 1868-1902 1753-1770, 1775-1792, 1795-1827, 1858-1861, 1864-1872
LBMD
1837-1990 1878-1903
FMP None 1609-1837 None
AC 1611-1635 1611-1635 1611-1635


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Preston Holy Trinity and comprising the whole ancient parish of Preston St John to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTON ST JOHN PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887.


Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616.Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,242 times.