Preston St Wilfrid, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Preston St Wilfrid, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston St Wilfrid, Lancashire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603; Separate registers exist for Preston St Andrew beginning 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Wilfrid Preston (see Preston St John) was the original parish church, from about the year 1094 A.D. However, the church came into disrepair and was demolished for another sometime in the 16th Century. In 1581, the name was changed to St John the Baptist, and then again it was changed to St John the Evangelist in 1770. There was also a Roman Catholic parish built by 1793 by this same name which lay within the civil parish boundaries of Preston. It was one of at least four or more Catholic churches built in Preston over a 75 year period.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,460 times.