Preston Upon The Weald Moors, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Preston Upon The Weald Moors, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston Upon The Weald Moors, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PRESTON-upon-the-Wild-Moors (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Wellington, Wellington division of the hundred of South Bradford,N. division of Shropshire, 3½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Wellington.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Preston Upon The Weald Moors, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Preston Upon The Weald Moors, Shropshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1679-1868 1679-1860

Bishop's transcripts held at the Lichfield Record Office: Baptisms 1668-1869, Marriages 1668-1869,  Burials 1668-1867, Missing all events 1845, 1852.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474581.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/PrestonUponTheWildMoors/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 06 July 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:33.
  • This page has been accessed 694 times.