Prince Edward County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Virginia go to Prince Edward County

Guide to Prince Edward County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records


Prince Edward County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Prince Edward County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Prince Edward County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1752
County Seat Farmville
Courthouse

Contents

Prince Edward County, Virginia Courthouse

Prince Edward County Courthouse
P.O. Box 304
North Main Street
Farmville, VA 23901-0304
Phone: 434-392-5145

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1896,
death records 1853-1969, marriage, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1754[1]

Beginning Dates for Prince Edward County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1754 1853 1810 1754 1754

Prince Edward County, Virginia History

Prince Edward, Duke of York (1739-1767)

This county is named after Prince Edward, Duke of York (1739-1767), younger brother of King George III of the United Kingdom.

Parent County

1752--Prince Edward County was created 27 February 1752 from Amelia County.
County seat: Farmville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Prince Edward County, Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Prince Edward County, Virginia Genealogy Resources

Vaprinceedward.jpg

African American

Prince Edward County, Virginia cohabitation records are available online.


Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:


Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Prince Edward County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
17908,100
180010,96235.3%
181012,40913.2%
182012,5771.4%
183014,10712.2%
184014,069−0.3%
185011,857−15.7%
186011,844−0.1%
187012,0041.4%
188014,66822.2%
189014,6940.2%
190015,0452.4%
191014,266−5.2%
192014,7673.5%
193014,520−1.7%
194014,9222.8%
195015,3983.2%
196014,121−8.3%
197014,3791.8%
198016,45614.4%
199017,3205.3%
200019,72013.9%

1783 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1820 Manufactures Schedule - Exists, but the National Archives microfilm copy of Prince Edward County, Virginia omits page 163a. The missing names have been published in The Virginia Genealogist:

  • Petty, Gerald M. "Virginia 1820 Federal Census: Names Not on the Microfilm Copy," The Virginia Genealogist 18, no 2 (April-June 1974):136-139.
The list is also available online at the Shenandoah County GenWeb Project.

1850

Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[3]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Appomattox (1773)[4]
  2. Mountain Cross (1788)[4]
  3. Rocks (1772)[4]
  4. Sailor Creek (1781)[4]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.


Prince Edward County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association.

Church of England

Gotoarrow.png See also Nottoway Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Patrick's Parish

French's Church served Prince Edward County's parishioners.[5]

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Prince Edward County is available online.[6]

Presbyterian

Old Buffalo Church was established about 1740 by Rev. John Thompson. A history was prepared in 1935: FHL Film 22738 Item 4. Records begin in 1804: FHL Film 1445927 Items 7-10.

Court

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Prince Edward County, Virginia Chancery Records 1856-1913 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Genealogy

More than 150 genealogies have been published about Prince Edward County families. To view a list, visit Prince Edward County, Virginia Genealogy.

Historic Residences

  • Smith, Ethel Marion. "Clover Hill. Early History of an Old Appomattox Landmark," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 57, No. 3 (Jul., 1949), pp. 269-273. Digital version at JSTOR ($). [Includes information about the Patteson family.]

Immigration

Land and Property

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories

  • Burrell, Charles Edward. A History of Prince Edward County, Virginia: From Its Formation in 1753, to the Present. Richmond, Va.: Williams Print. Co., 1922. Available at FHL; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Books Online.

Maps

Migration

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Prince Edward County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 271-272.]
  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Prince Edward County to other parts of the country.]

Military

French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Prince Edward County militia officers and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Prince Edward County, see pp. 96-97.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Prince Edward County militia officers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in Prince Edward County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Prince Edward County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment (9th Company) (perhaps)[7]

Additional resources:

Prince Edward County, Virginia residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[8]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Prince Edward County on page 132.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812

Prince Edward County men served in the 63rd Regiment.[9]

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 2007. FHL Collection [Includes Prince Edward County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Prince Edward County, p. 99. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Prince Edward County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Prince Edward County, Virginia:


- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Prince Edward Dragoons).[10]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Prospect Rifle Grays) and Company F (Farmville Guard).[11]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Hampden-Sydney Boys).[12]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Meherrin Grays).[13]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Prince Edward Central Guards).[14]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Guard).[15]
- 53rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Old Dominion Riflemen).[16]
Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Prince Edward County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Prince Edward County, Virginia newspapers.


Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Petitions

  • Drake, Mrs. William P. Petitioners and Tithables in Prince Edward County, Virginia, 1775-1776. West Palm Beach, Florida: Genealogical Records Committee, Seminole Chapter, NSDAR, 1979. Available at FHL.

Probate Records

A free index to Prince Edward County, Virginia wills and administrations (1754-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.

Research Guides

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Prince Edward County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):291-294. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • [1747] Amelia Tithables, 1747, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 2004. Vol. 42 Iss. 4. [Useful for Prince Edward County families.]
  • [1754-1789] Miscellaneous Papers, Prince Edward County, Virginia. 1939. Available at FHL. [Contains poll lists, tithables, and inhabitants covering 1754-1789.]
  • [1755] Morton, W.S. "A List of Tithables Between Bush and Buffalo Rivers Taken by Thomas Scott, June 1755," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 18 (1936):50-54. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL.
  • [1767] Tax List, 1767, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Summer 1995. Vol. 33 Iss. 3.
  • [1773] Tithables, 1773, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Winter 1996. Vol. 34 Iss. 1.
  • [1775-1776] Drake, Mrs. William P. Petitioners and Tithables in Prince Edward County, Virginia, 1775-1776. West Palm Beach, Florida: Genealogical Records Committee, Seminole Chapter, NSDAR, 1979. Available at FHL.
  • [1782-1821] Heinegg, Paul. "Prince Edward County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1821," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1787] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Prince Edward County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • [1788] Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Prince Edward County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 271-272.]
  • [1792, 1800] Indexed images of the 1792 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Prince Edward County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1800] County Tax List, 1800, The Virginia Genealogist. Falmouth VA: Jul 2005. Vol. 49 Iss. 3; Oct. 2005. Vol. 49 Iss. 4.
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Prince Edward County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records

Indexes to Prince Edward County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records


Birth
  • 1862-1896 - Fridley, Beth. Prince Edward County, Virginia Births, 1862-96 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
Marriage
Death

Prince Edward County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.

Beth Fridley's abstracts of these records are also available on Ancestry ($):

Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Voting

  • Miscellaneous Papers, Prince Edward County, Virginia. 1939. Available at FHL. [Contains poll lists, tithables, and inhabitants covering 1754-1789.]

Prince Edward County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Prince Edward County, Virginia Genealogy Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Prince Edward County, Virginia. Page 719 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
  5. French's Church, The Historical Marker Database, http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=31333, accessed 13 January 2012.
  6. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  7. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  8. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 40-41. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  9. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 176. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  10. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  11. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  12. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  13. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  14. Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  15. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  16. G. Howard Gregory, 53rd Virginia Infantry and 5th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 132.
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  18. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  19. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 20:22.
  • This page has been accessed 13,008 times.