Prince Edward Island GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Canada
Prince Edward Island
Genealogy
A recent index to many published biographies, cemetery records, census records (through 1881), church records, directories, family histories, genealogies, immigration lists, local histories, Loyalist listings, marriage records, periodicals, probate records, and vital records in newspapers in Prince Edward Island is:
- Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Atlantic Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994. (Family History Library book Ref area 971.5 D22a.) Indexes over 500,000 names from various sources for the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Labrador, and Prince Edward Island. Sources are listed at the end of each volume.
The Island Register http://www.islandregister.com/ Is an extensive genealogy site. It has a surname index, census, cemetery, land, probate, and other records.
The Master Name Index, an extensive list of information on many islanders from sources such as censuses, newspapers, PEI Genealogical Society Newsletter, and many others is now online at http://www.peigs.ca/cmni.php
A bibliography of family histories of Island families is at http://www.archives.pe.ca/finding_aids/4289.pdf
| ||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 September 2011, at 00:41.
- This page has been accessed 897 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More