Prince George Parish, South CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  South Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Prince George Parish

This parish is also know as Prince George Winyah Parish.

Before the American Revolution, the state church of South Carolina was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.[1]
Princegeorgewinyah.jpg

Contents

Founded

Prince George Winyah Parish was created in 1721 from the northwest part of St. James Santee Parish, a part of Craven County.[2] The original church was near Brown's Ferry on the Black River (Dunbar), Georgetown, SC. In 1734 that building was given to the new Prince Frederick Parish, and a new church for Prince George Parish was constructed later in Georgetown, Georgetown, SC.[3]

Boundary

Borders: St. James Santee, North Carolina border since 1734, Prince Frederick since 1734, and All Saints since 1767 parishes. For a map, see: Early parishes in South Carolina. An overlay of districts is available at Carolana.com.

Areas Served: Prince George Parish served:[4]

Modern equivalents: The original parish covered part of what is present-day Georgetown County. In 1734 the parish was expanded to include more parts of present-day Georgetown and Horry counties.

Resources

Cemetery

  • "Inscriptions from the Churchyard of Prince George Winyah Georgetown, South Carolina," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul., 1930), pp. 184-208; digital version at JSTOR ($); Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct., 1930), pp. 292-313; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Hundreds of the cemetery's old graves are described at Find A Grave. Includes transcripts and select photographs.

Hundreds of the cemetery's graves are also described at SCGenWeb.

Parish History

In a book review, Heritage Passed On was described as "of special interest to genealogists and church historians studying the Georgetown area," see:

  • Lumpkin, Sarah Parker. Heritage Passed On: History of Prince George, Winyah Parish. 1992.

For an early history of the parish, see Chapter 10, Prince George's Parish, Winyaw, pages 303-318, in:

  • Dalcho, Frederick. An Historical Account of the Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina from the First Settlement of the Province, to the War of the Revolution; with Notices of the Present State of the Church in Each Parish and Some Account of the Early Civil History of Carolina, Never Before Published. Charleston: E. Thayer, 1820. FHL Film 22657; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Parish Records

Marriages from the parish register have been abstracted in:

  • Holcomb, Brent H. and Thomas L. Hollowak. South Carolina Marriages, 1800-1820. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL Book 975.7 V2hsc v. 2

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Prince George Winyah Episcopal Church

References

  1. "The Formation of Counties in South Carolina," at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History website, accessed 21 January 2011.
  2. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 7 May 2011).
  3. "Prince George Winyah Parish / Prince Frederick’s Parish (1721) / (1834)" in Historical Marker Database at http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=17008 (accessed 20 May 2011).
  4. "South Carolina Counties and Parishes 1740" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_counties_parishes_1740.html (accessed 20 May 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 March 2012, at 18:31.
  • This page has been accessed 4,502 times.