Princes Risborough, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Wycombe PLU
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RISBOROUGH, PRINCE'S (St. Mary), a market town and a parish, in the union of Wycombe, hundred of Aylesbury, county of Buckingham, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Great Missenden, and 37 (W. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241211.

Probate records

The Buckinghamshire Family History Society has indexed wills of all testators from Princes Risborough proved in the Archdeaconry Court of Buckingham from 1500 to 1858. The index includes names of beneficiaries, witnesses, etc. Visit their website to learn more.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Princes Risborough on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 pp.616-618. Date accessed and adapted 25 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 21:21.
  • This page has been accessed 598 times.