Prior's Heys, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Priors Heys, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Priors Heys

Guide to Prior's Heys, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Prior's Heys, Cheshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Prior's Heys (formerly Pryor's Hayes) was an extra-parochial place in Eddisbury Hundred (Map Grid SJ 5166), which became a civil parish in 1858[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church records

Prior's Heys extra-parochial place no records.

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Prior's Heys Extra-Parochial No Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Since Prior's Heys was extra-parochial, you should search neighbouring parishes. To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click 'Options' and click 'List contiguous parishes.'

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Here is a list of the districts that have included Priors Heys since 1837, with dates of inclusion:

  • Great Boughton (1837-1870)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Chester (1937-present)

Poor Law Unions

  • Great Boughton

Probate records

Before 1858, records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were probated by the ecclesiastical court with jurisdiction over this place. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here some online gazetteers and maps for England.

Websites

References

  1. UK and Ireland Genealogy Genuki. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 October 2014, at 01:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,163 times.