Providence County, Rhode IslandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Rhode Island Gotoarrow.png Providence County

Guide to Providence County, Rhode Island ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Rhode Island_Online_Genealogy_Records Rhode Island
Online Records


Providence County, Rhode Island
Map
Map of Rhode Island highlighting Providence County
Location in the state of Rhode Island
Facts
Founded June 16, 1729
County Seat
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

Providence County Courthouse
250 Benefit Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401.277.671

Probate Judge has probate records
Family Court has divorce records;
Municipal Court has court records;
Recorder Deeds has land records;
Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage and death records

(22 towns in Providence Co) Towns Organized Before 1800; Cranston 1754, Cumberland 1746-7, Foster 1781, Gloucester 1730-1, Johnston 1759, North Providence 1765, Providence 1636, Scituate 1730-1, Smithfield 1730-1

There is no county government. The government is located at town and state levels.

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Providence County, Rhode Island

Named for the Divine Providence.

16 June 1729: Renamed Providence County. [1]

Parent County

1703: Formed as Providence Plantations County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Rhode Island County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Rhode Island County Boundary Maps" (1643-1963) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

Places / Localities

Rhode IslandConnecticutMassachusettsProvidence CountyKent CountyWashington CountyNewport CountyBristol CountyBristol CountyNorfolk CountyWorcester CountyWindham CountyFosterScituateGlocesterBurrillvilleNorth SmithfieldSmithfieldWoonsocketCumberlandLincolnCentral FallsJohnstonCranstonProvidenceNorth ProvidencePawtucketEast ProvidenceConventryWest WarwickWarwickEast GreenwichNorth KingstownPortsmouthBarringtonBristolSterlingKillinglyPutnamThompsonWebsterDouglasUxbridgeMillvilleBlackstoneMendonBellinghamFranklinWrenthamPlainvilleNorth AttleboroughAttleboroSeekonk
Modern towns and cities in Providence County, Rhode Island. Click map to go to each respective town page.


Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Poccassett Cemetery, Cranston, Rhode Island

Census

For tips on accessing Providence County, Rhode Island census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.

Church History and Records (Rural)

Court

Directories

Fold3 ($) has Providence City Directories 1861-1924 available online.

Ethnic, Religious and Political Groups

Cottrol, Robert J. The Afro-Yankees : Providence's Black Community in the Antebellum Era - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press 1982. (Contributions in Afro-American and African Studies, 0069-9624; no. 68) FHL 974.52 F2c

Land

History

Maps

Riprovidence.jpg

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • 1778-1784, 1799-1828 - The Providence Gazette at Google News - free.
  • 1779-1781 - The American Journal and General Advertiser at Google News - free.
  • 1785-1795 - The Providence Gazette and Country Journal at Google News - free.
  • 1799-1801 - The Providence Journal at Google News - free.

Probate

The probate records of Providence, 1670 to 1730, have been published. See Frank Calef's index to Providence probate records of 1663 to 1775 (FHL 022385).

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Rhode Island Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Rhode Island Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Rhode Island Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies


Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:54.
  • This page has been accessed 7,144 times.