Prussia - SchlesienEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Prussia - Schlesien ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Beginning Schlesien (Silesian) Research
Alternate Place Nameswww.kartenmeister.com . This site also gives the church jurisdiction. You may also add your name into a list of interested researchers for the locality and connect with other researchers searching there.
The Prussian area known as Silesia consisted of two regions, Upper Silesia (Oberschlesien) and Lower Silesia (Niederschlesien). It was bordered on the west by Saxony, on the north by Brandenburg, on the east by Poland, and on the south by Czechoslovakia. The Sudenten Mountain range ran along its southern border. Two major rivers, the Oder and the Neisse ran through it. Two major cities were Breslau and Görlitz.
As a result of various wars, Silesia is now divided between three different countries. The largest portion of Silesia is in modern-day Poland. A small portion of southern Silesia was ceded to Czechoslovakia in 1918 and is now in the Czech Republic. In 1945 as a result of the Potsdam Conference, the line between Poland and East Germany was drawn along the Neisse river dividing Görlitz between East Germany and Poland. The portion of Görlitz that remained in Germany retained its name. The portion that went to Poland is now called Zgorzelec. The Polish name for Breslau is Wrocław.
A useful tool exists at GenWiki. The following site is very useful for research in Schlesien/Silesia.
Gliwiceregion records online with FamilySearch.
A site to help you find photos and maps of your places of interest This site can be searched for specific towns and you can also add your photos if you like.
Featured Contentdigitized books
For "Heimatbriefe" (Homeland newsletters) for various areas in Upper Silesia please go to this site
Things You Can Do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 28 November 2014, at 21:23.
- This page has been accessed 13,860 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More