Publow, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Publow, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Publow, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Keynsham
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Clutton PLU
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569; For more records see Stanton Drew
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PUBLOW (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Keynsham, E. division of Somerset, ¼ of a mile (N. E.) from Pensford, containing part of the hamlet of Woolard. This parish is situated on the river Chew. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Publow, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
PUBLOW PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1569-1901
1569-1908
1569-1880
NBI

1755-1880
SOPC 1823-1901
1591-1909
1570-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474599.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Publow/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 618-621. Date accessed and adapted: 03 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  4. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2014, at 20:57.
  • This page has been accessed 819 times.