Puerto Rico CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Census
Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico Census
The Treaty of Paris (1898) ceded Puerto Rico to the United States (from Spain). Only U.S. Military and Naval Forces were included in the 1900 census of Puerto Rico. However, civilians have been included ever since then.
To find ancestors living in Puerto Rico in 1910, 1920, and 1930 search the US Census online databases as if you were searching in an American state.
Contents |
U.S. Federal population schedules and indexes
Online Puerto Rico census indexes and images
| Online U.S. Federal Population Schedules for Puerto Rico | ||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | ||||
| FamilySearch Record Search[1] | Heritage Quest[2] | Ancestry FHL ed.[3] | Ancestry Library ed.[3] | Ancestry Home ed.[3] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | - | - | - | - | - |
| images | pending | - | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | - | - | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1920 | indexes | - | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | - | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | Armed Forces-Foreign Countries-Puerto Rico | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
Available on Microfilm
Federal census records on microfilm are available from the Family History Library and Family History Centers, and Regional Branches of U.S. National Archives.
1899. Report on the Census of Puerto Rico, 1899 (Washington, DC : U.S. G.P.O., 1900) (FHL film 908535).
1900. For a Soundex index on microfilm for Puerto Rico, see the U.S. Military and Naval, 1900 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules. For a microfilm of the U.S. military population schedules, see FHL film 1249702.
1910. For 28 microfilms of the population schedules in Puerto Rico, see Puerto Rico, 1910 Federal Census: Population Schedules.
1920. For a Soundex index and populations schedules on microfilm, see Puerto Rico, 1920 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules.
1930. For 30 microfilms of the population schedules, see Puerto Rico, 1930 Federal Census: Population Schedules; NARA microfilm publication T626.
Sources and Footnotes
- ↑ HistoricalRecords, a rapidly expanding set of free online indexes and document images, including many United States federal and state censuses; part of FamilySearch.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
| ||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2013, at 17:43.
- This page has been accessed 9,472 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More