Pulaski County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Pulaski County

Guide to Pulaski County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Pulaski County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Pulaski County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 15, 1818
County Seat Little Rock
Courthouse
Address Pulaski County Courthouse
401 W Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone 501.340.8500


Contents

County Courthouse

Pulaski County Courthouse
401 W Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone 501.340.8500

County Clerk has marriage records from 1838, probate records from 1820, voter registration records from 1952, real estate tax records from 1828, personal property tax records from 1869 and poll tax from 1892; Clerk Circuit Court has court, land an naturalization records; Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records; History Commission has probate court records before 1920.[1]

Beginning years for Pulaski County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1839 1914* 1839 1819 1820
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1818--Pulaski County was created 15 December 1818 from Arkansas County.  County seat: Little Rock [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Faulkner  • Grant  • Jefferson  • Lonoke  • Perry  • Saline  •

Pulaski CountyLonoke CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyHot Spring CountySaline CountyFaulkner CountyConway CountyPerry CountyPope CountyWhite CountyGarland CountyPrairie CountyARPulaski.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Pulaski County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Pulaski County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

1820--Census is missing.

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Little Rock

Court

Directories

Genealogy

  • Biographies from The History of Pulaski County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include"an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pulaski County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pulaski County, Arkansas:


- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company D
- 4th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, C, D and E
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and I
- 36th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and K.


- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[4], Companies C, G, H, K, L and M
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)


Civil War Battle Fought in Pulaski County

The following Civil War battle was fought in Pulaski County.

  • 1863 - September 10 = Bayou Forche, also known as Little Rock[5]
Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pulaski County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Southern Guardian, 1911-2001 - an ongoing digitization project to make these issues of the predecessor to the Arkansas Catholic available online. As of April 2011, only 1911 issues are available.

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1818-1920 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1839-1886; Administration bonds and letters 1886-1902; County Court records 1846-1857; Guardian bonds 1864-1873; Guardian bonds and letters 1873-1911; Letters of administration 1860-1886; Letters of guardianship 1873-1886; Letters of testamentary 1861-1919; Probate packets 1819-1920; Probate records 1849-1913; Wills 1818-1849.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Pulaski County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Pulaski County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Pulaski County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Pulaski County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Pulaski County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 April 2012).
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 December 2014, at 16:35.
  • This page has been accessed 11,190 times.