Pulaski County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Pulaski County

Guide to Pulaski County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records
Pulaski County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Waynesville
Courthouse
Address Pulaski County Courthouse


301 Historic 66 East
Waynesville, Mo 65583
Phone: 573-774-4701
Pulaski County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1903[1]
Fire.png

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire destroyed most of the Pulaski County, Missouri courthouse records June 13, 1903.[2]

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Miller  • Maries  • Phelps  • Texas  • Laclede  • Camden

Pulaski CountyPhelps CountyShannon CountyDent CountyTexas CountyWright CountyWebster CountyCole CountyMiller CountyMorgan CountyCamden CountyLaclede CountyOsage CountyMaries CountyGasconade CountyMOPulaski.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Family Biographies from The History of Pulaski County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pulaski County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mopulaski.jpg

Migration

Military

Civil War
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
:- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company B
:- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company C

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pulaski County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Genealogy/Historical Society

Genealogy/Historical Society of Pulaski County
P.O. Box 144
Waynesville, MO, 65583
Phone: (573) 774-6883 - Lorraine Rigsby
Email: jemumer@yahoo.com - Jeff Mitchell
Website: http://users.cablemo.net/~mscott1108/pages/GENALOGY.dwt

Library

Pulaski County Library District
P.O. Box 340
Richland, MO. 65556
Phone: (573) 765-3642
Website: http://www.pulaskicounty.lib.mo.us/

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Pulaski County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Pulaski County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Pulaski County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Pulaski County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Pulaski County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Pulaski County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pulaski County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Pulaski County Courthouse in Encyclopedia of Missouri Courthouses (4 March 2014).



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 October 2014, at 16:04.
  • This page has been accessed 6,656 times.