Pulaski County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Pulaski County
Guide to Pulaski County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Pulaski County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| | |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1839 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Pulaski |
| Courthouse | |
Pulaski County, Virginia Courthouse
Pulaski County Courthouse
45 Third Street, NW
Suite 101
Pulaski, VA 24301
Phone: 540-980-7825
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1882,
divorce, probate, court and land records from 1839[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1839 | 1853 | 1840 | 1839 | 1840 |
Pulaski County, Virginia History
The county is named after General Casimir Pulaski (1745-1779), a Polish nobleman who died fighting for the Patriot cause in the Revolutionary War.
Parent County
1839--Pulaski County was created 30 March 1839 from Montgomery and Wythe Counties.
County seat: Pulaski [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Pulaski County, Virginia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pulaski County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):122-123. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African American
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. [Includes Pulaski County.]
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
- Tombstone Transcription Project Pulaski County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Pulaski County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1840 | 3,739 | ||
| 1850 | 5,118 | 36.9% | |
| 1860 | 5,416 | 5.8% | |
| 1870 | 6,538 | 20.7% | |
| 1880 | 8,755 | 33.9% | |
| 1890 | 12,790 | 46.1% | |
| 1900 | 14,609 | 14.2% | |
| 1910 | 17,246 | 18.1% | |
| 1920 | 17,111 | −0.8% | |
| 1930 | 20,566 | 20.2% | |
| 1940 | 22,767 | 10.7% | |
| 1950 | 27,758 | 21.9% | |
| 1960 | 27,258 | −1.8% | |
| 1970 | 29,564 | 8.5% | |
| 1980 | 35,229 | 19.2% | |
| 1990 | 34,496 | −2.1% | |
| 2000 | 35,127 | 1.8% | |
| 2010 | 34,872 | −0.7% | |
1840
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Pulaski County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Presbyterian
- 1854-1875 - Drapers Valley Presbyterian Christenings 1854-1875. Batch C504741 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Court
Genealogy
Several genealogies have been published about Pulaski County families. To view a list, visit Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy.
Land and Property
An early settlers map is available for Pulaski County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers from 1776-1976. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5775 E7m.
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 575 patents dated 1746-1887 in what is now Pulaski County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2009. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories
- Pulaski County, Virginia: A Historic and Descriptive Sketch Designed to Show Forth the Natural Advantages, Resources and General Adaptability of the Banner County of Southwest Virginia, to Agriculture, Cattle Raising, and also Commercial and Industrial Enterprises. Pulaski, Va.: Southwest Pub. Co., 1907. Availale at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Pulaski County on page 136.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Pulaski County, p. 100. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Pulaski County.
- May 9, 1864 = Cloyd's Mountain[4]
Regiments. Service men in Pulaski County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pulaski County, Virginia:[5][6]
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Pulaski Guards).[7]
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Pulaski Guards).[8]
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.[9]
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F.[10]
- - Dublin Provost Guard (Confederate)(Information about this Pulaski County Guard can be found on page 275 of the preceding reference 1.)
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Pulaski County, Virginia newspapers.
Private Papers
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Probate Records
- 1838-1859 - Pulaski County Wills 1838-1859 (New River Notes) - free.
Taxation
- [1839] Personal Property Tax List, 1839, Virginia Appalachian Notes. Roanoke VA: Feb 1983. Vol. 7 Iss. 1.
Vital Records
Indexes to Pulaski County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
- 1853-1893 - Fridley, Beth. Pulaski County, Virginia Births, 1853-93 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
Marriage
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1838-1845 - Pulaski County Marriages 1838-1845 (New River Notes) - free.
- 1851-1900 - Virginia Marriages 1851-1900 (Ancestry) ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church History and Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Pulaski Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Prince William County, Virginia. Page 719 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
- ↑ Pages 257-275, The Land That Is Pulaski County FHL book 975.5775 H2s Pulaski County
- ↑ FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29 titled A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865.
- ↑ James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
- ↑ Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- ↑ John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- ↑ George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:02.
- This page has been accessed 3,567 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



