Pulborough, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Pulborough, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pulborough, Sussex
Pulborough St Mary West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Thakeham PLU
Registration District Thakeham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PULBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of West Easwrith, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 9 miles (N. N. E.) from Arundel. The river Arun and the Arun canal pass through the parish. The church, which is picturesquely situated on a sandstone hill, is in the early English style, with later additions. On the south-west of the churchyard, a small chapel was taken down about fifty years since. The Roman road from Regnum (Chichester) to London passes in a right line through the parish for three miles and a half.[1]

A history of the church Pulborough St Mary

The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building.

Pulborough Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

other places of Worship in Pulborough include

Providence Congregational Chapel, Mare Hill 1845-1947 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Pulborough Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganization
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Pulborough, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Pulborough, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1583-1876 1583-1876
PRTS 1595-1900
1595-1902
1595-1900

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Pulborough

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Thakeham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Pulborough/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 618-621. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,416 times.